Our FAQ`s
1
2
3
4

FAQs

 
 

Hotline

+41 (0) 840 42 42 42

welcome@mobileo.ch

Gift vouchers

Order a guaranteed one of a kind gift idea.

Driver Card

Get your Segway driver’s license at mobileo

Safety on the road

As official, authorized Swiss Segway tour operators, we take utmost care for quality and safety.

Segway Authorized Tours

Newsletter subscription

 

facebook

Follow us!

Questions and answers about tours

Functionality

How does the Segway PT work?

The Segway PT is a computer on two wheels: five gyroscopic sensors and two acceleration sensors analyze the terrain and body position of the driver one hundred times per second. To move the Segway PT forward or backwards, the driver simply leans forward or backwards. To turn left or right, the driver tilts the LeanSteer handlebar to the left or right. When the driver stands upright the vehicle stops. Further information about the functionality of the Segway PT can be found here.

How do I learn to ride the Segway?

Our guides will show you how the Segway PT works. Afterwards, each participant can experience the unique Segway life and drive style. To get used to the device, the Segway PT will be switched into beginner mode allowing reduced speed. The guides are available at any time for questions and provide a safe realization of the event.

What is the maximum speed?

The maximal speed of the device is 20 km/h.

How large is the range with one charging of the battery?

With a fully charged battery the vehicle has a theoretical range of up to 40km. The travel distances depend primarily on payload, riding style, temperature and terrain. A Classic Tour which lasts 2.5 hours (incl. 30 min of instructions and safety training) is approximately 15km long, ensuring a sufficient reserve battery load. On our Special Tours, however, we are usually longer on the road and manage well over 800 meters in altitude difference.

Safety (Security)

How safe is riding a Segway?

The utmost care and research has been invested in the security of the Segway PT. Redundant systems and comprehensive sensors ensure that the vehicle is at all times controllable, also in exceptional circumstances. Detailed information about the technology can be found here.

Years of experience prove that the Segway PT is a secure vehicle when used appropriately. Just as with every other vehicle however, it is important that the driver is looking ahead. Understanding the functionality of the Segway PT and using it appropriately can prevent injuries, which happen as a result of misemployment or loss of control. Our guides will impart the appropriate handling of the device during comprehensive safety training at the beginning of each tour.

Are helmets worn during tours?

For security reasons all guides and participants wear a helmet. We provide you with helmets in different sizes.

Who is liable in the event of damage?

Our vehicles are insured against damage to third parties (liability insurance). However, you are liable for all damages to your own vehicle. When booking the tour, participants can purchase the motor own damage insurance for a small fee. The participant´s individual accident or health insurance should cover personal injuries.

Requirements and conditions of participation

Which requirements and skills are necessary for driving a Segway?

The Segway PT is very easy to use and there are no special skills required. Hence, Segway riding is suitable for both young and old. Getting on the vehicle is similar to getting up a single step of a staircase without any assistance. The weight of the driver must be between 45 and 115 kg.

The Segway PT is classified as a small motorcycle in Switzerland and a valid driver’s license category A1 45km/h (scooter, aged 16 and above) or category B (car) is required. Currently, the Segway is permitted on Swiss roads, cycle paths and lanes as well as all areas where scooters or motorcycles (not mopeds) are approved. Further facilitation of traffic is planned at the beginning of 2015. Please find the details here (in german).

I have no driver’s license respectively only a learner´s permit. What are my options?

A Person without a valid driver´s license for riding a Segway PT can join a tour with an alternative vehicle. Possible options are E-Bikes (from 14 years holding a moped permit and from the age of 16 on without any license) or E-Bikeboards (from 14 years without a driver’s license). Simply tell us the number of alternative vehicles necessary in your initial request and we will verify the availability of them.

The Segway PT can be driven with a learner´s permit category A1, but not with the learner´s permit category B1. The facilitation of the changes decided upon in parliament concerning the facilitation of traffic will occur in the beginning of 2015. Then, participants over the age of 14 years holding a moped license or when older than 16 years without any license are allowed to drive a Segway PT. An overview of the planned facilitation of traffic can be found here (in german).

Can I drive a Segway whilst being pregnant?

It is possible to drive a Segway during pregnancy. However, keep in mind that you are on a motorized vehicle and the possibility of incidents can never be eliminated completely. Generally we do not recommend the participation for women in a late stage of pregnancy.

What should I bring?

We provide the vehicle, helmet and safety vest. Please wear weather-appropriate clothing. We suggest taking your own light rain protection along in case of uncertain weather conditions. Please wear closed, flat and comfortable shoes (Ladies: no high heels please). Warm gloves, winter footwear and warm clothing are recommended during the cold season of the year. Don’t forget to bring your Segway Driver Card if you already have one.

Group size

How many guides look after a group?

A maximum of 6 people are supervised by one guide. This ideal group size means that the guide can take care of all your needs. For larger groups we allocate proportionately more guides and form several small groups.

What is the minimum and maximum group size?

We operate our regular Public Tours with a minimum of 2 people (only weekends), all other tours starting from 4 participants. However, individual or small groups are possible against additional charges.

A maximum of 50 to 60 participants can simultaneously take part in a tour. This, however, involves a lot of logistics and organization on our part. The large group will be divided into smaller groups and start their tour staggered. We are happy to create an individual offer for you.

Are group discounts available?

Guided Segway tours are a unique experience also for large groups. However, we do not offer group rates or discounts. Larger groups require additional planning, organization and coordination of guides, as well as transport of supplementary equipment and devices. This additional effort and expense also affects the tour price. Please contact us for an individual quote.

We are a group of two. Which tour would suit us?

You may choose between the following two options:

  • As a group of two you can participate in a private tour. Against a small extra charge, you have the guide all to yourself and you can choose the tour, date and start time.
  • Another option is the participation in our Public Tours. These tours are always Classic Tours with a duration of 2.5 hours and take place regularly in every location at 2pm on Saturdays and Sundays. There are mixed groups with up to 6 people per group. Special feature: The Public Tours run with a minimum of only 2 persons!

Realization: Time, weather and language

Can I choose the time and date?

You can choose the date and the start time of your event – given that we have free capacities.

Our public tours (Classic Tours) have set times. They take place in every location at 2 pm every Saturdays and Sundays.

For all other tours you can choose the date and the start time of your event – given that we have free capacities. The Segway is equipped with lightning and can even be driven at night.

What happens if it rains?

In general our tours also run in non-optimal weather conditions. However, we cannot guarantee that the booked event can take place at the scheduled date/time. If a tour is cancelled due to weather or security reasons (heavy rain, storm, severe weather warning) you may rebook, obtain a voucher, or if agreed upon in advance you will get back your payment deducting our administrative charge.

Should we consider a tour as not feasible, you will be contacted and informed by us. If you are uncertain about the feasibility, do not hesitate and contact us one or two days before the scheduled event under +41 (0) 840 42 42 42.

We provide rain ponchos free of charge in case of a short rain shower during your tour.

In which language are the tours held?

In the Swiss-German part of Switzerland our tours are normally held in German, in the French-Swiss part in French. Naturally it is also possible to arrange a tour being held in the language of your choice (e.g. English). Please advise the desired language/s in your initial request so we can take it into account.

Locations and availability

Where can I find the meeting point of my tour?

You will find our meeting points here. The guide will welcome you at the agreed time and meeting point.

What is the best way to arrive at the meeting point?

You can find all information about our meeting points for tours here including directions, on-site parking options and details about your journey with public transport.

How can I reach the mobileo team outside office hours?

Our hotline is reachable every day under +41 (0)840 42 42 42 - also on the weekends. Do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions.

 
 

mobileo Switzerland · welcome@mobileo.ch · +41 (0) 840 42 42 42

website powered by weblication · design by srt kurth & partner ag

Hotline

+41 (0) 840 42 42 42

welcome@mobileo.ch

Gutscheine verschenken

Bestellen Sie die originelle Geschenkidee - garantiert einzigartig!

Überblick
Winterangebot

Trip Advisor

Bewerten Sie unseren Service auf Tripadvisor. Ihr Feedback ist uns sehr wichtig.

Trip Advisor

Sicher unterwegs

Als offiziell autorisierter Schweizer Segway Tourenanbieter sorgen wir für höchste Qualität und grösstmöglichste Sicherheit..

Segway Authorized Tours

Newsletter abonnieren

 

Follow us on Facebook

Fragen und Anworten rund um Touren

Funktionsweise

Wie funktioniert der Segway PT?

Der Segway PT ist ein Computer auf zwei Rädern: Gyroskope und Neigungssensoren überwachen den Schwerpunkt des Fahrers ungefähr hundert Mal pro Sekunde. Wenn sich der Fahrer nach vorne lehnt, bewegt sich das Fahrzeug vorwärts. Wenn sich der Fahrer nach hinten lehnt, bremst der Segway oder fährt rückwärts. Die Richtung wird mit dem patentierten Lenksystem gesteuert. Mehr Informationen über die Funktionsweise finden Sie hier

Wie erlerne ich das Segway fahren?

Zu Beginn jeder Tour findet ein halbstündiges, umfassendes Sicherheitstraining statt. Dabei zeigt Ihnen der Guide die Funktionsweise des Segway PT und begleitet Sie bei den ersten Fahrübungen. Damit Sie sich besser an das Gerät gewöhnen können, wird der Segway PT zu Beginn in den Anfängermodus mit reduzierter Geschwindigkeit geschalten. Erst wenn alle Teilnehmer mit dem Gerät vertraut sind, beginnt die Tour mit Ihrem Guide.

Wie hoch ist die maximale Geschwindigkeit?

Der Segway PT erreicht eine maximale Geschwindigkeit von 20 km/h.

Wie hoch ist die Reichweite des Fahrzeugs?

Die theoretische Reichweite des Fahrzeugs beträgt mit einer Akku-Ladung knappe 40 km – primär abhängig von Untergrund, Gewicht, Steigung und Temperatur. Auf einer Classic Tour mit Dauer 2.5 Std. (inkl. 30 Min. Instruktion und Einfahren) sind wir ca. 15 km unterwegs, sodass genügend Reserve vorhanden ist. Auf unseren Spezialtouren sind wir hingegen in der Regel länger unterwegs und bewältigen teilweise auch über 800 Höhenmeter.

Sicherheit

Wie sicher ist Segway fahren?

Grösstmögliche Sorgfalt und Forschungsarbeit wurde in die Sicherheit des Segway PT investiert. Redundante Systeme und umfassende Sensoren sorgen dafür, dass das Fahrzeug auch in Ausnahmesituationen steuerbar bleibt. Ausführliche Informationen zur Technologie finden Sie hier.

Die jahrelange Erfahrung zeigt, dass der Segway PT bei sachgemässer Bedienung ein sicheres Fahrzeug ist. Wie bei allen Fahrzeugen ist jedoch wichtig, dass der Fahrer eine um- und vorausschauende Fahrweise einhält. Die sachgemässe Handhabung und das Verstehen der Funktionsweise des Segway PT verhindern Verletzungen, welche durch Missbrauch oder Kontrollverlust entstehen können. Die richtige Handhabung vermitteln Ihnen unsere Guides während eines umfassenden Sicherheitstrainings zu Beginn jeder Tour.

Werden Helme auf den Touren getragen?

Aus Sicherheitsgründen tragen unsere Guides und Teilnehmer einen Helm. Wir stellen Ihnen Helme in verschiedenen Grössen zur Verfügung.

Wer haftet im Schadenfall?

Unsere Fahrzeuge sind gegen Schäden an Dritten versichert (Haftpflicht). Für Schäden am eigenen Fahrzeug kann der Teilnehmer bei Buchung der Tour gegen einen geringen Aufpreis eine Vollkasko-Versicherung abschliessen. Falls sich der Teilnehmer verletzt, trägt dies seine Unfallversicherung (Krankenkasse oder Nichtberufsunfallversicherung NBU).

Voraussetzungen und Teilnahmebedingungen

Welche Voraussetzungen und Kenntnisse braucht es zum Segway fahren?

Die Bedienung des Segway PT ist sehr einfach, besondere Fähigkeiten sind keine erforderlich. Daher eignet sich Segway fahren für Jung und Alt gleichermassen. Das Aufsteigen auf das Fahrzeug entspricht in etwa dem Besteigen einer einzelnen normalen Treppenstufe ohne Fremdhilfe. Das Gewicht des Fahrers muss zwischen 45 und 115 kg liegen.

In der Schweiz gelten die Segway PT-Modelle seit 1. Juni 2015 als Motorfahrräder (Mofa) und werden weitestgehend dem leichten E-Bike gleichgesetzt. Dies bedeutet, dass das Fahrzeug ab 14 Jahren mit Mofa-Ausweis (Kat. M) sowie ab 16 Jahren ohne Führerschein gefahren werden kann. Der Segway PT fährt überall dort, wo auch Velos zugelassen sind.

Ich habe keinen Führerschein bzw. nur den Lehrfahrausweis?

In der Schweiz gelten die Segway PT-Modelle seit 1. Juni 2015 als Motorfahrräder (Mofa) und werden weitestgehend dem leichten E-Bike gleichgesetzt. Dies bedeutet, dass das Fahrzeug ab 14 Jahren mit Mofa-Ausweis (Kat. M) sowie ab 16 Jahren ohne Führerschein gefahren werden kann.

Kann ich als Schwangere Segway fahren?

Grundsätzlich ist es möglich, als Schwangere Segway zu fahren. Als Tour-Teilnehmer sind Sie jedoch auf einem motorisierten Fahrzeug im Strassenverkehr unterwegs, d.h. auch andere Verkehrsteilnehmer haben Einfluss auf den Ausgang der Tour und Zwischenfälle sind nie ausgeschlossen. Wir raten Hochschwangeren daher von der Teilnahme grundsätzlich ab.

Was muss ich mitbringen?

Wir stellen Fahrzeug, Helm und Sicherheitsweste zur Verfügung. Allen Teilnehmern empfehlen wir wetterangepasste Kleidung. Bei unsicheren Wetterverhältnissen empfehlen wir die Mitnahme eines leichten Regenschutzes. Als Schuhwerk tragen Sie am besten geschlossene, flache und bequeme Schuhe (Damen keine High Heels). Im Winter verwenden Sie warme Handschuhe sowie Winterkleidung und -schuhe.

Gruppengrösse

Wie viele Guides betreuen eine Gruppe?

Es werden immer maximal 6 Personen von einem Guide betreut. Dies bedeutet, dass sich der Guide optimal um Ihre Bedürfnisse kümmern kann. Bei grösseren Gruppen setzen wir entsprechend mehr Guides ein und bilden mehrere Kleingruppen.

Was ist die minimale und maximale Gruppengrösse?

Unsere regulären Öffentlichen Touren (Wochenende) führen wir mit mindestens 2 Personen durch, alle anderen Touren ab 4 Personen. Sie können jedoch auch als Einzelperson oder mit einer kleineren Gruppe auf Tour gehen – mit einem Aufpreis verbunden.

Maximal können 50 bis 60 Personen gleichzeitig auf Tour gehen, was jedoch einiges an Logistik und Organisation unsererseits erfordert. Dabei starten die Kleingruppen gestaffelt. Gerne erstellen wir Ihnen hierzu ein individuelles Angebot.

Gibt es Gruppenrabatt?

Die geführte Segway-Tour ist auch für grössere Gruppen ein einzigartiges Erlebnis. Wir bieten allerdings keine Gruppenpreise oder Preisnachlässe an. Grössere Gruppen erfordern ein deutliches Plus an Planung, Organisation, Koordination von weiteren Guides sowie Transport von zusätzlichen Geräten und passender Ausrüstung. Dieser Mehraufwand wirkt sich auch auf den Preis aus. Wir erstellen Ihnen gerne ein individuelles Angebot.

Wir sind zu zweit. An welcher Tour können wir teilnehmen?

Wählen Sie zwischen folgenden beiden Möglichkeiten:

  • Sie können zu zweit an einer Privattour teilnehmen. Gegen einen kleinen Aufpreis haben Sie Ihren Guide ganz für sich alleine und können Tour, Datum und Startzeit frei wählen.
  • Eine andere Option ist die Teilnahme an unseren Öffentlichen Touren. Diese sind Classic-Touren über 2.5 Std. und finden immer samstags und sonntags jeweils um 14 Uhr in jedem Standort statt. Es handelt sich hierbei um gemischte Gruppen mit maximal 6 Personen. Die Besonderheit: Die Touren finden bereits ab 2 Personen statt.

Durchführung: Zeitpunkt, Wetter und Sprache

Wie frei bin ich in der Wahl der Startzeit und des Datums?

Unsere Öffentlichen Touren (Classic-Touren) haben fixe Startzeiten. Sie finden jeden Samstag und Sonntag um 14 Uhr in jedem Standort statt.

Bei allen anderen Touren sind Sie frei in der Wahl des Datums und der Startzeit – vorausgesetzt wir haben noch freie Kapazitäten. Da der Segway mit Beleuchtung ausgerüstet ist, kann auch bei Dunkelheit gefahren werden.

Was passiert bei Regen?

Grundsätzlich führen wir die Segway Citytouren auch bei nicht einwandfreien Wetterbedingungen durch. Dennoch können wir nicht garantieren, dass eine gebuchte Tour zum geplanten Datum/Zeitpunkt stattfinden kann. Falls eine Tour aus Wetter- oder Sicherheitsgründen (Dauerregen, Sturm, Unwetterwarnung) annulliert wird, können Sie umbuchen, wir stellen einen Gutschein aus oder Sie erhalten falls vereinbart die geleistete Zahlung unter Abzug der bereits beanspruchten Leistungen und Aufwendungen zurück. Weitergehende Ersatzforderungen sind ausgeschlossen.

Sollten wir eine Tour als nicht durchführbar erachten, werden Sie von uns kontaktiert und informiert. Falls Sie über die Durchführbarkeit unsicher sind, so fragen Sie ein oder zwei Tage vor der Tour bei unserer Buchungshotline nach.

Im Falle eines kurzen Regenschauers während Ihrer Tour verfügen wir über Regenponchos.

In welcher Sprache findet meine Tour statt?

In der Deutschschweiz finden unsere Touren regulär auf Deutsch/Schweizerdeutsch statt, in der Westschweiz auf Französisch. Es ist selbstverständlich möglich, dass Ihre Tour in einer anderen Sprache stattfindet. Teilen Sie uns Ihre Wünsche bereits bei der Anfrage mit.

Anreise und Erreichbarkeit

Wo ist der Treffpunkt für meine Tour?

Sie finden hier den jeweiligen Treffpunkt Ihrer Tour. Der Guide erwartet Sie rechtzeitig zur vereinbarten Startzeit am aufgeführten Treffpunkt.

Wie reise ich am besten an?

Sie finden hier Informationen zu jedem Startpunkt der Touren inklusive Anfahrtsbeschreibung, Parkmöglichkeiten in der Nähe und Details zur Anreise mit den öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln.

Wie erreiche ich das mobileo-Team ausserhalb der Bürozeiten?

Unsere Buchungshotline ist unter +41 (0)840 42 42 42 täglich erreichbar – auch am Wochenende. Zögern Sie nicht, uns bei Fragen zu kontaktieren.

 
 

mobileo Schweiz · welcome@mobileo.ch · +41 (0) 840 42 42 42

website powered by weblication · design by srt kurth & partner ag